

# North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys

P.O. Box 32725, Charlotte, NC 28232 | PH: (704) 940-1707 | EMAIL: admin@ncawa.org

#### 2020 GOVERNING BOARD

#### **PRESIDENT**

Manisha P. Patel 333 N. Greene Street, Suite 404 Greensboro, NC 27401 (336) 203-8882 Manisha.P.Patel@gmail.com

#### PRESIDENT-ELECT

Laura Loyek, Raleigh

#### VICE PRESIDENT

Samantha Sliney, Whispering Pines

#### **TREASURER**

Sheldon Schenck, Raleigh

#### CO-TREASURER/AT-LARGE

Liles Demmink, Raleigh

#### SECRETARY

Trisha Barfield, Greensboro

#### HISTORIAN

Erin Burke, Greensboro

## CAREER SUPPORT & ADVANCEMENT COMMITTEE CHAIR

Holly Taylor, Raleigh

#### **EDUCATION COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Lauren Snyder, Raleigh

## GOVERNMENT ACTION COMMITTEE CHAIR

Sarah Jessica Farber, Raleigh

#### NOMINATING & PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD COMMITTEE CHAIR

Audrey Snyder, Greensboro

#### COMMUNITY OUTREACH CHAIR

Pending

#### AT-LARGE

Porsha Washington, Charlotte Sara Leopold, Wilmington

#### JUDICIAL DIVISION CO-CHAIRS

Hon. Robin Hudson NC Supreme Court, Raleigh

Hon. Valerie Zachary NC Court of Appeals, Raleigh

#### LOBBYIST

Ashley Matlock Perkinson, Raleigh

# North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys PRESS RELEASE

### For Immediate Release

October 6, 2020

#### JUDICIAL CANDIDATE ENDORSEMENTS

Contact Martha New Milam, Durham (919) 401-5151, ext.6

The North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys Judicial Endorsements Committee announced its 2020 judicial candidate endorsements today. The Committee makes non-partisan endorsements in judicial races only. The Committee endorses a candidate for judicial office based on his or her legal skills and ability, professional competence, legal experience, temperament, and demeanor as befits a judicial position. Other factors considered include the candidate's demonstrated support for the participation of women in the legal profession and for the rights of women under the law.

"We have carefully researched the judicial candidates we have endorsed, and we are confident each of them will make excellent judges;" said Martha New Milam, a Durham attorney who is the Committee's chair. The Judicial Endorsements Committee endorses the following judicial candidates for the upcoming general election.

#### NORTH CAROLINA SUPREME COURT

Chief Justice, Seat 01 Chief Justice Cheri Beasley

Associate Justice, Seat 02 Court of Appeals Judge Lucy Inman

Associate Justice, Seat 04 Associate Justice Mark Davis

#### NORTH CAROLINA COURT OF APPEALS

Seat 04 Ms. Tricia Shields

Seat 05 Superior Court Judge Lora C. Cubbage



# North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys

P.O. Box 32725, Charlotte, NC 28232 | PH: (704) 940-1707 | EMAIL: admin@ncawa.org

#### NORTH CAROLINA COURT OF APPEALS (cont'd)

Seat 06 Mr. Gray Styers

Seat 07 Court of Appeals Judge Reuben F. Young

Seat 13 Court of Appeals Judge Chris Brook

#### NORTH CAROLINA SUPERIOR COURT

District 13B, Seat 01 Senior Resident Superior Court Judge Jason C. Disbrow

#### NORTH CAROLINA DISTRICT COURT

District 04, Seat 05 Judge Carol Jones

District 08, Seat 06 Judge Annette W. Turik

District 09, Seat 04 Ms. Carolyn (Yancey) Thompson

District 10F, Seat 02 Ms. Beth Tanner

District 14, Seat 07 Judge Shamieka LaCher Rhinehart

District 15B, Seat 03 Judge Hathaway S. Pendergrass

District 18, Seat 11 Judge Bill Davis

District 19D, Seat 14 Judge Tiffany Bartholomew

District 20D, Seat 02 Ms. Tiffany Wilson

District 21, Seat 08 Mr. Whit Davis

District 26, Seat 09 Judge Rex Marvel

District 26, Seat 10 Ms. C. Renee Little

District 29B, Seat 02 Judge Mack McKeller

District 30, Seat 06 Mr. Justin Greene